Just for today do not anger…

Like the first Reiki principle (Just for today do not worry) following this principle requires us to be present in the moment, to bring our attention and all our energies into the here and now. When we feel anger our focus and energies are being directed back to the past; to events that hurt us, either mentally, emotionally, spiritually or physically.

I struggle more tangibly with this principle than any of the others. When I’m feeling a state of anger I’m usually not very clear about what I’m angry about and often end up diffusing my anger with whoever is closest to me at the time. I aspire to feeling less anger as I acknowledge my past and release my attachment to what has happened. When I do feel angry I try to pause and find some space to centre myself with Reiki and meditation, to explore what I’m feeling angry about and what I can do about it.

The beauty of Reiki at these times is experiencing that gentle, guiding support, feeling the emotions dissolve and become less important to me. Paradoxically, in some ways, I find myself experiencing stronger emotions, including anger, now that I regularly self treat with Reiki. I believe one of the reasons for this is that I’m more connected to all aspects of myself. I’m also more accepting of who I am, and therefore, also a lot less likely to hide my emotions, burying them deep down to leak out later.

Whilst I experience stronger feelings, they now dissipate much more quickly as I’m able to identify and engage with my feelings and explore what is at the heart of the matter. When in the past (before being attuned to Reiki) I might have dwelt on an issue for days, now it is usually moments, minutes, occasionally hours, as I bring my focus back to the here and now. Whilst we can’t change what happened in the past, we can most definitely alter our perspective, changing our relationship to the past and the hold it has over us.

img_0781

5 thoughts on “Just for today do not anger…

  1. So glad Reiki is helping you to live better and feel better 🙂 Its awesome how a lot of people are moving towards Yoga, Meditation and Reiki. Have you been to Rishikesh in India? It is the YOGA capital of the World and has number of ashrams for meditation and yoga.
    Read my blog on it here – https://himadri7.wordpress.com/2017/01/26/rishikesh-is-not-just-about-rafting/

    Do visit when you have the chance, you’d love it! Much love from India. Namaste 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thankyou! Just what I needed as I was sitting festering over my morning being spoiled by teenagers not doing what i want them to do! And it is historical! It’s a reaction to “not this again! “, and a”leaking out” of conversations from 2 days ago. As is often the case, it’s not the current situation i’m actually angry about….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

